

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING WEDNESDAY 2nd NOVEMBER 2022

MINUTES

1. Welcome

President, Hugh Ellwood welcomed the members to the 13th AGM. A quorum was noted and Mr. Ellwood declared the meeting open.

2. Apologies

Sylvia Awbery, Helen Fowler and Mairi Pilgrim.

3. Minutes of the AGM 3rd November 2021 [available of the website]

The Minutes, proposed by Christine Cockburn and seconded by Rita Calvert were accepted by the members and signed by the Chair, Nigel Bramley-Haworth.

4. Annual Report and Treasurer's Report 2022 [available on the website]

Presented by Chair, Nigel Bramley-Haworth. The Chair thanked each and every member of the Committee for their tireless hard work. He thanked Tony Depledge for producing the monthly lecture notes, published on the website. He paid tribute to Rowland Darbyshire, Treasurer who finishes his term of office today, and Pauline Hamilton who has assisted Denise Malpas, Chris Marshall who acted as Minutes Secretary and Jeremy Stirrup, the Society's Independent Financial Examiner for many years, who steps down today.

He praised Denise Malpas and her Programme Team for the wonderful variety of subjects covered by the lectures, all of which were voted either 'outstanding' or 'excellent, by members attending them in the theatre. The lecture programme together with study days, visits and social events are the core purpose of the Society. Here he placed on record his thanks to the staff and volunteers of the Lowther for their help and cooperation during the year.

The Chair highlighted the drop in membership numbers, which will increasingly be of concern for the future success of the Society and a priority for the Committee to address. He asked the members if they value and enjoy what the Society offers to try and promote the Society to friends, neighbours and colleagues, to bring them along to a lecture, study day, social event or trip. To promote what the Society does best through personal recommendation, and ensure a future for The Arts Society Fylde.

No questions relating to the Reports had been received, therefore the Chair proposed both Reports to the members; this was seconded by Olga Depledge and accepted by the members by a show of hands.

5. Election of President

The Chair proposed Hugh Ellwood and this was seconded by Pat Corless.

6. Elections of Vice Chair and Treasurer

The President explained that to preserve consistency, only vacancies are advertised. Mr. Darbyshire, Treasurer retires from his role today but despite seeking nominations over several months no one has come forward. Christina McHugh, Vice Chair has agreed to take on the Treasurer's role and steps down as Vice Chair. Nominations were invited for Vice Chair but none has been forthcoming. The President informed the members that the Vice Chair need not become Chair. He asked if any members present would take on the role – no one came forward. The role will remain vacant. The President read out the names of the Committee. He thanked Mr. Darbyshire for his contribution to the Society and presented him with small token of thanks.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chair	Nigel Bramley- Haworth		
Vice Chair	Vacant		
Treasurer	Christina McHugh		
Minuting Secretary	Hilary Cresswell	Co-opted 2022	
Membership Secretary	Lesley Peabody Brewer		
Programme Secretary	Denise Malpas		
Communications Officer	Pam Foster		
Events Coordinator	Jean Holland		

7. Election of Independent Financial Examiner

The President thanked Mr. Stirrup for his many years of service to the Society. Mr. Stirrup was not present to receive a small token of thanks so this will be passed on to him. Mr. Ellwood agreed to take over from Mr. Stirrup as there were no offers from members to take on the task.

The Chair announced his grateful thanks to Mr. Ellwood on behalf of the Society.

8. AOB and Closing Remarks

The Chair invited any questions arising from the meeting. There were none. He thanked Mr. Ellwood for overseeing the meeting and thanked the members for supporting the Committee by attending the AGM.

He announced the date of the next AGM; 1st November, 2023. There being no other business he declared the meeting closed.

Signed: ______Nigel Bramley-Haworth, Chair.

Date: _____

C. McHugh 03.11.2022